The Bulger Case

Since I have started to write blogs on subjects away from Liverpool FC I haven’t really touched on a subject that may ignite a passionate debate such as this. My blogs have been more focused on my personal moans about public transport etc and have been mainly light hearted, but the recent developments concerning the return to prison of Jon Venables who was convicted 17 years ago for murdering young Jamie Bulger has made me want to share my views on this awful crime.

Before I go on I know that there will be strong opinions on this subject but the point of this blog is not to dig up and go through every detail of what happened 17 years ago but to discuss how Bootle and the people of Bootle continue to be affected by this and why after all these years the Town is still suffering.

Most of you won’t know me personally but those who do will know my professional ties to Bootle and the Town Centre and will understand why I want to write a blog about it.

When on Tuesday this week the news broke about Jon Venables returning to prison for not complying with his release order, I knew that the media would again go into detail about the horrific crime that happened 17 years ago.
I want to make it clear that we should never forget what the family of Jamie Bulger have had to experience over the last 17 years and the injustice they feel but we should also remember this crime has also hurt Bootle as a town and its residents.

The main reason for this I believe is that both Jon Venables and Robert Thompson  have been allowed back into society (only after serving 8 years in a young offenders institute) and therefore it is very difficult for the family of Jamie Bulger to move on along with the town of Bootle also. Every time the press and media refer to this case then they all decend on Bootle with their cameras to remind the nation of where it took place and to stand outside the local shopping centre where Jamie was taken. I feel that if both Jon Venables and Robert Thompson were detained in prison then this would be less likely and would help the people of Bootle to get on with their daily lives without the regular intrusion of the media.

I am sure the recent developments concerning Jon Venables has angered not just the people of Bootle but the vast majority of people because it seems that the Ministry of Justice decision to release him and Robert Thompson may have backfired and that maybe trying to ‘reform’ killers no matter how old they isnt the answer but that is another discussion altogether.

In the meantime I hope that the people of Bootle will one day be able to live in their town without the constant reminder of the awful crime that happened 17 years ago.

Tags:

Leave a comment